It’s a girl!/Some quick thoughts from Abba

With many thanks to God, we are overjoyed to announce that last Friday, August 9 at 9:57 in the morning Alli gave birth to a beautiful, gentle and sweet little girl.  After spending three days at Haddassah Ein Kerem Hospital, Mommy and baby came home on Monday.  Abba (i.e., Daddy) is thrilled to have both of his girls home.

We will write more in depth about the whole experience soon, but here are some quick initial thoughts.  First, we are so thankful for the amazing help of our doula Ilana Rosensweig.  She was such a positive, inspiring, calming influence on both of us.  She helped turn what could have been complete torture into an uplifting (though still painful) experience.  Second, the staff, especially the midwives at Haddassah were unbelievable kind and caring.  They not only treated Alli and our baby with medical expertise, but they also treated the two of them as people.  Third (and the last thought for now), is that I remember my mother telling me several times as I was growing up that I was the best thing that she ever did.  Naturally, I just blew this off as “mom talk.”  Then last Saturday, as I was holding our baby and looking at her sleep in my arms, the same exact thought ran through my mind about our daughter.  She’s the best thing that we’ve ever done.  Thank you God.

Etie (the midwife) and our bundle of joy

Etie (the midwife) and our bundle of joy

Getting weighed for the first time - I was 2.45 kg or about 5 lbs. 6 oz.

Getting weighed for the first time – I was 2.45 kg or about 5 lbs. 6 oz.

checking my reflexes - yes, I did start sucking right away

checking my reflexes – yes, I did start sucking right away

IMG_1439

some snuggle time with mommy after Shabbat

some snuggle time with mommy after Shabbat

IMG_1450

Now Abba gets some snuggle time

Now Abba gets some snuggle time

It looks like we fell asleep together, doesn't it?  (Shhh...this was a staged photo, don't tell anyone.)

It looks like we fell asleep together, doesn’t it? (Shhh…this was a staged photo, don’t tell anyone.)

IMG_1456 IMG_1463 IMG_1466 IMG_1470 IMG_1479

ready to go home

ready to go home

getting some tummy time

getting some tummy time

IMG_1490

I've had enough of tummy time and I want to eat

I’ve had enough of tummy time and I want to eat

IMG_1495

Passing out on Abba after a big meal

Passing out on Abba after a big meal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s a girl!/Some quick thoughts from Abba

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for sharing your new little bundle. Mazel Tov to you both. I can’t wait to see her.

  2. Anonymous says:

    So happy for you both! Enjoy her! Love- Dan and Maria, +Ben

  3. Liba says:

    Oh she’s beautiful! Enjoy!

  4. Eli says:

    Wow Mazel tov! We are so thrilled for you and we can’t wait to meet your little girl! Love Eli and Elie

  5. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for sharing!! I’m so excited for you guys!!

    Love Sarah W (aka D) 🙂

  6. Kristin Gamzon Cook says:

    I love her! I can’t wait to hog her when I meet her!

  7. Troy says:

    She is soooo cute! Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear what her name is!

  8. labbygail says:

    Mazal tov! My favorite is the carseat one…so teeny 🙂

Leave a Reply

