Closing Time

A few weeks ago, it became apparent that the grocery store I frequent, Mega, is closing. While no one seems to know when it will officially close or when it will become the new grocery store that is planned, the loss of the familiar shopping location has made me very sad. It was the first grocery store that I shopped at so I have always felt the most comfortable there. It is never as busy as the other stores, and visits to busy Israeli grocery stores tend to end with me in tears, so even though it may have been slightly more expensive, the quality of the shopping experience was worth it. Also, I have become familiar with a number of the cashiers there, one of which has been so nice to me that I sometimes purposely wait in her slightly longer line just so I can say hi to her. Seeing her always made grocery shopping here seem a little less overwhelming.

When it became apparent that the store was closing, the song Closing Time by Semisonic started playing in my head. This is the song that I quoted in one of my first blog posts. It felt suitable recurrence of the song since the closing of Mega has aligned with the beginning of the end of our adventure here in Israel.

The main verse that has always been so meaningful from this song is: Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end. This rings true with Mega as well as our journey. Mega will be transformed into a new store, and its closing has pushed me to try other grocery stores that I chose to avoid for our entire time here. And while there was a bit of anxiety entering the Super-sal across the street from Mega, it turned out to be a great experience. I found a number of things that I have been living without because I didn’t think I had access to them in Israel. Mega’s closing has taught me once again that sometimes something has to end to push us forward.

Almost 2 years ago, I felt like my life was closing because we decided to pack up our life and move to Israel. It was so scary to leave everything that was comfortable behind to explore a new world. Now, as we begin the moving process once again, there is a bit of anxiety that overwhelms me. Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited to be back with our families and back with our community. I have spent many hours over the past few weeks trying to figure out the source of my anxiety and most of it stems from having to close things up here. It is extremely difficult to say goodbye to the people and places that have become so familiar here. It may also relate to the fact this adventure has changed who I am. Maybe I won’t fit back into things the way I once did. Maybe I don’t want to. I really can’t figure it out right now. Change is never easy.

What I have learned from being in Israel and from Mega closing is that with change comes new opportunities. Once I get over the awfulness of moving and having to say goodbye, then we will start focusing on the next step in our journey. We will always miss what we have here, but we will also always appreciate what we have when we are back in the United States. I have to know that it will turn out for the best. After all, look how wonderful things turned out here.

Until next time…
Allison

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Closing Time

  1. TROY SCHINKEL says:

    Change is tough, but the more you do it the easier it becomes. Best of luck in transitioning.

Leave a Reply

